A Comprehensive Guide about the Diamond

Aries Birthstone-Diamond

Diamond is the Aries Birthstone as it belongs to the Aries having date of birth between 21 March and 20 April. If we compare its glorious look with other birthstone, there will be no alternative of this stone but to some extent geologist say that August Birthstone that is peridot has stolen its beauty.

Naturally, all diamonds are not equal as they exist at different depths in the forms of rocks. The impurity level also varies in the diamonds. Most of the people differentiate among the diamonds on 4 C’s that are CUT, Clarity,CARAT, and Color but the story is different. Diamonds are classified in various types on their physical and chemical properties. With the atomic analysis of the diamond, geologists can decide either the stone are original, synthetic or treated.

The diamond is mainly classified into two categories that are given below with description.

Consumer Classification of Diamond

By keeping in view the consumer’s choice, a diamond is classified into main four types that are

  1. Natural Diamonds

These naturally occurring stones are colorless and this is whish of everyone to wear it because of its beauty. Such a piece of gemstone has rare level of impurity in it.

  1. Treated Diamonds

These are also naturally occurring stones and are beautified with the artificial treatment. These are treated with the special materials to hide the inclusions and these are less expensive than the original diamonds.

  1. Human Created Diamonds

These types of stones are prepared in the labs and in recent years this trend of lab grown diamonds is increasing at rapid speed. Lab prepared diamonds are 30% cheaper than the natural diamonds but in near future they will be 50% cheaper.

Technical Classification of Diamond

In this classification at formation of diamond some impurities like nitrogen elements or may be carbon element is substituted inside the crystal lattice and later on these atoms are forwarded in the atom for mutual clustering. Such chemical impurities and structural abnormalities are invisible to the naked eyes but affect a lot color of diamond tones. The classification of diamonds is listed below

Ia Diamonds

In this type of diamond a yellowish glittering light is observed. This color is visible because of the presence of large clusters of nitrogen in the crystal lattice throughout.  When the nitrogen is coupled in groups of three and natural light is allowed to fall on it, these groups absorb the blue color from light spectrum and finally reflected light seems yellow.

IIa Diamond

This type of diamond is free from the nitrogen impurities with dynamic fluorescence and without visible absorption and finally it produces a yellowish or brown glow. These are very rare stones and are formed under a very high pressure for long duration and possess irregular shape.

Among all the diamonds, this type has very high value and is considered as the best choice for the investment.  As these stones are very remarkable due the reason of having minor amount of nitrogen and have difficult absorption of short wavelength light.

Ib Diamond

This type of diamond is different than the Ia as in this type a single nitrogen element instead of cluster of hydrogen is dispersed throughout the crystal lattice. Example of such diamond is canary diamond.

IIb Diamond

Type IIa and IIb both have less amount of nitrogen in the crystal structure. These stones have reasonable difference with the types of diamond and have boron element in it. Because of presence of this element in the diamond, it is has electrical conductance traits and is very rare stone.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here